i carry your heart

12 May

My brother got hitched last Sunday. The same brother who, six years ago, intended to be a bachelor for the rest of his life. Proof positive that time, and the right person, changes everything.

After the engagement ordeal I endured a couple of years ago, I stubbornly declared that I might never want to get married. What’s the point? How can anyone promise to love another person forever? And then I meet a boy who makes my heart beat double-time, and well, my stubbornness seems to dissipate in an instant. Time is a healer, as the late Eva Cassidy sang.

Yet what struck me most during the wedding was not the expression of love between my brother and his new wife. It was the love expressed by the union of two families. No man is an island, nor is any partnership.

Mid-ceremony, the officiant asked us to take a deep breath and just be present in the moment. To appreciate each person in attendance. As I looked around at the other 24 people in the room, I realized that my brother’s choice for a date to his Sophomore dance some 17 years ago had led me to gain three new sisters, a brother, and a larger support network in my own life. That, to me, is the beauty of marriage at its best. It binds families together, and each family member’s life is thus increased and expanded.

With that in mind, I’d like to bring Cheekie back to the interwebs with a poem the maid of honor (my new sister) read during her toast to the bride (my other new sister). This poem has been a favorite of mine for years. One of the qualities I love most about poetry is the way a poem can resurface in your life at various times with new meaning.

i carry your heart speaks to the love between sisters, which I am now fortunate enough to enjoy for the first time in my life. But it also echoes this moment in my life in a larger way, as my heart seems to be stretched out in so many geographical directions while life responsibilities anchor me here in Asheville…

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart)i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go,my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing,my darling)
i fear
no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want
no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

-e.e. cummings

6 Responses to “i carry your heart”

  1. cam May 12, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Beautifully said.

  2. Connie (Mom) May 12, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    My heart is full

  3. Courtney May 15, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    lovely!!

Leave a Reply

