Nail Fix

22 Jan

I am having major issues with my nails at the moment. Some folks are accustomed to chronic nail problems, but I am not one of those people. My nails are usually thick, strong and healthy. I’ve received countless compliments on them.

This might sound vain, but honestly I take no credit for my nail health because I do absolutely nothing to make them compliment-worthy. Plus, I don’t exactly consider healthy nails to be a vanity-inducing quality. That is, until last month when they started peeling, breaking and causing me all sorts of anxiety. Now I’d rank attractive nails right up there with luxurious hair and straight, white teeth.

Naturally, I’ve embarked on a hunt for a fix. Just in case you are dealing with a similar nail tragedy, here are two products that might help…

Organic Soy Nail Polish Remover by Karma Organics

This lavendar-scented nail polish remover is non-toxic, non-carcinogenic, and one hundred percent biodegradable. As a dog-owner, this is important to me. My pup has been known to knock over bottles of nail polish remover and snatch remover-soaked cotton rounds from countertops and trash cans. The organic polish remover is gentle on the skin, especially the skin around your nail edges that tends to dry out in winter. Plus, it came recommended by a fabulous friend who wouldn’t steer me wrong!

Sally Hansen Nail Nutrition Green Tea & Olive Leaf Nail Growth

The strengthening properties of antioxidants and bamboo in this nail strengthener bond nail layers to prevent that horrible peeling by which I’m plagued. Plus, flexible nails are less likely to break while you’re performing tasks like typing, cooking, or just plain existing (lately my nails seem to break for no reason whatsoever). This is not an immediate fix, but if you commit to applying it several times a week, your nail structure will improve. I’ve been using it for a couple weeks and I can already see a difference!

2 Responses to “Nail Fix”

  1. jess rosen January 22, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I swear by this stuff, the Karma nail polish remover is amazing, if you are ever in Ridgewood go there, they are phenomenal!

    • Cheekie January 30, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      I will definitely check it out if I’m ever in the area!

Leave a Reply

