Oh Là Là!

13 Dec

Ever decorate a cookie, take a step back, and think this is a work of art? Well, I bet it was lovely. I also bet it wasn’t nearly the masterpieces Maggie Austin cooks up in her kitchen. And it’s no wonder–Maggie is a graduate of L’art de la Pâtisserie program at the French Pastry School.

Maggie Austin CAKE‘s four new cookie design categories are inspired by art movements: Impressionist, Bauhaus, Art Nouveau, and Botanical. My personal favorites are the Impressionist delights, owing largely to my affinity for impressionist art.

Each and every cookie is hand painted by Maggie herself. Continuing the art trope, these sweet indulgences are also signed and numbered. What an amazing gift for any art enthusiast. She even does custom designs. 

Okay, so at $75 for a set of four, her cookies are über expensive. But just look at them. Wow. I don’t know if I could bring myself to actually eat one of these objets d’art!

Oh, and Maggie isn’t so bad with cakes either…

4 Responses to “Oh Là Là!”

  1. acivilurbanity December 13, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    I’m so glad you posted this! This woman is incredible… I’ll start saving now for my wedding in 2 years!

    • Cheekie December 14, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

      She is amazing, isn’t she?? That would be phenomenal to have her design your wedding cake 😉

  2. Elisa December 21, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    Those flower cookies are so creative and pretty. I’ve never seen anything like them! But yes, a little beyond the price range. I can’t imagine anyone paying that much for a cookie -unless it is preserved and will last as a work of art.

    • Cheekie December 21, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

      Definitely difficult to imagine paying that much for a cookie! It’s fun to look though 🙂 And I suppose everyone likes to splurge on different things.

Leave a Reply

