What’s Handmade, Vegan, and Smells Good Enough to Eat?

8 Dec

I’m so overflowing with excitement about today’s post that I’m not even sure how to begin! It might be considered the quintessential Cheekie subject matter: vegan beauty products, handmade by two incredible sisters.

Blueberry Pie Vegan Soap

Rachel and Sarah McClure are the brains and beauty behind ajoeynamedroo creations. They make all their beauty products from scratch, and their etsy shop contains detailed information about the ingredients. Everything is vegan, ensuring that no animals were harmed or used in the making of your new lip balm or foot scrub. Best of all, keeping your skin healthy and gorgeous with ajoeynamedroo creations won’t break the bank. Say goodbye to over-priced products from health food stores!

The only problem with ajoeynamedroo creations products is that I want to eat them. Seriously, I nearly went into child-eats-paste mode the moment I opened each scrub, soap, lip balm, and body butter. The Orange Creamsicle Body Butter drove me to the brink, but at the last second I decided not to taste it for fear that I might die and ajoeynamedroo creations would be blamed for my demise.

Fight Club Lavender & Vanilla Cream

With adorable names (Honey I Only Dream of You vegan lip balm…) and decadent scents, Rachel and Sarah’s creations are pretty much irresistable. And they work. I’ve had dry lips for about three weeks now. I’m talking cracking and bleeding–attractive, I know. I started using the Strawberry Champagne lip balm and Peppermint Exfoliating Lip Scrub (yum!) a few days ago and voila, my chapped lips are virtually healed already!

Cheekie asked Rachel to tell us how she and her sister got started with their fabulous business. We quickly learned that this business grew out of a simple need and a “why not?” attitude.

Here’s what Rachel told us:

I’ve always been kind of a beauty geek. I love sampling, sniffing, applying and reapplying; there’s something exciting about trying new things that smell pretty and make your skin soft. Though I’m obsessed with beauty products, I’m also really thrifty. I love looking for good deals, and frankly, if you find a cheap bath and beauty product, the ingredients probably aren’t the kinds of things you want to put on your skin (many contain mineral oil, a by-product of crude oil…yuck!). Making my own products allowed me to use high quality products without spending a fortune.

I started making my own simple body scrubs by mixing olive oil and sugar, and from there, my fixation on bath and body spiraled out of control. If I could make scrubs, then why not lip balms? If I could make lip balms, why not lotion? I corralled my crafty sister into helping me, and soon I had so much cool stuff I didn’t know what to do with it all. We set up an etsy shop and never looked back.

After about a year, we decided to go completely vegan. We use candelilla wax instead of beeswax in our lip balms, certified vegan sugar (rather than regular sugar which can be filtered through charcoal of animal origin), and vegetable-derived stearic acid. We love being able to give people (and ourselves) affordable, high-quality vegan products.

And wait… we’re not finished yet. ajoeynamedroo creations has been kind enough to share a recipe with Cheekie readers!

Strawberry Champagne Lip Balm

If you’re in the mood to get crafty in the kitchen, whip up your own easy body scrub using this recipe. The ingredients are available in most health food stores.

Exfoliating Body Scrub

3/4 cup vegan sugar
1/4 cup olive oil (you can also use safflower oil or coconut oil. Experiment to see which you like best!)
1/4 teaspoon vitamin E
20-25 drops of essential oil (lavender or lemongrass are great choices)

Mix olive oil and vitamin E in a large bowl. Add sugar and stir. Add 20 drops of essential oil; if you like a stronger scent, add 25. Mix thoroughly, pour into a jar or container, and screw the lid on tightly. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

