Tempting Vegan Treat You’ll Actually Want to Eat!

12 Nov

Vegan ice cream is lame. It’s not creamy, it tastes funky, and the aftertaste is less-than-pleasant.

There is an exception to this rule: Tempt vegan ice cream by Living Harvest.

Honestly, it might be even creamier than real ice cream. Plus, it’s low in sugar, calories and fat, and tastes GOOD. Not It’s good for vegan ice cream good, but I want to devour this whole container while watching Love Actually and wiping my tears on my pajama sleeve good! Take that, Ben and Jerry’s. (Okay, I still love you Ben and Jerry’s, but eating you three times a week was causing epic struggles with the button on my jeans.)

Perhaps the best thing about Tempt is that it’s made with hemp milk. Among other nutiritional benefits, hemp protein contains Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids, which promote the health of your skin, brain, heart, nervous system, and immune system. And of course, hemp milk is great for people with allergies to dairy, gluten, soy and nuts.

While the benefits are clear, I must give a disclaimer about hemp milk in general: It tastes like cardboard. I’ve only tried the plain (un-flavored) variation. My dad loves it and touts it as the best milk in the world. But for me, it’s like drinking a liquid refrigerator box. While I encourage you to try hemp milk for yourself, I hereby declare that if you hate it, you only have yourself to blame. I prefer to get my hemp nutrients from yummy ice cream.

The first flavor I tried is Coconut Lime. It’s creamy, tart, and contains real shredded coconut. I’m a sucker for lime, though. For a more classic ice cream taste, go for Vanilla Bean. I swear it rivals Haagen-Dazs. Chocolate lovers will enjoy the Chocolate Fudge flavor–though beware, it’s higher in sugar content than the others.

Tip: Let the container sit out on the counter for about five minutes before scooping. Or, if you are impatient and dying to eat it right this minute, pop it in the microwave for 30 seconds.

I dare you to find a vegan ice cream better than Tempt.

2 Responses to “Tempting Vegan Treat You’ll Actually Want to Eat!”

  1. Jennifer November 17, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    Hi, it’s Jennifer from Living Harvest. I’m so happy to hear the you enjoy Tempt! I’d love to send you some coupons– if you’re interested just email me and I’ll send them your way 🙂

    • Cheekie November 17, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

      Thanks for the comment Jennifer! It’s so nice that you took the time to read the post 🙂 I’ll definitely send an email–coupons for ice cream, who can turn that down!?

Leave a Reply

