Moo Moo’s Veggie Meals

2 Nov

Okay, I admit it: I love to eat pigs. Bacon, pulled pork, sausage… I love it all. In fact, pork is the reason why I am no longer a vegetarian.

When I’m not eating pigs, however, I like to pretend I’m a veggie girl. Vegetarian food is healthy, and the vegetarian restaurants where I live serve some of the best food in town. But there are two problems with my part-time vegetarianism: going out to eat gets expensive, and my cooking is mostly horrendous.

So imagine my excitement when I discovered Moo Moo’s Vegetarian Cuisine! Moo Moo’s offers six frozen entrees. I’ve had two–the Chipotle Black Bean Burrito and Maddalena’s Gnocchi. The former is vegan, the latter vegetarian. Both are damn tasty. I typically despise frozen meals, but these are actually flavorful and nutritious. The frozen food line also offers gluten and lactose free meals for those with food allergies.

Wondering why a vegetarian food company is named after the sound a cow makes? Don’t worry, “Moo Moo” is actually the childhood nickname of founder Michele Rastelli. So while you’re delving into your Roasted Cashew Stir-Fry or Sweet ‘N Spicy Curry Tofu, you can take pride in knowing you’re supporting a woman-owned business.

Know of other frozen vegetarian food that rocks? Don’t keep it a secret… let us know!

2 Responses to “Moo Moo’s Veggie Meals”

  1. Jerzy November 2, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    Amy’s Organic is my most beloved brand! They make amazing mac and cheese, or a dairy free version called mac and “cheeze” if you want the vegan version. (Both = delish.)

    They also have a yummy palak paneer that comes with spiced beans, and several other awesome Indian dishes. These have saved me on many busy nights. :o)

    • Cheekie November 2, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

      Oooh, I love Amy’s too!! I’ve had the mac and cheese (as well as the vegan version), but never tried the palak paneer. That’ll be next on my list! Have you ever tried Amy’s pizzas? They are delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

